//
you're reading...
Home Cookin', Recipes, Sunday Dinner

Sunday Dinner – Skillet Meat Loaf with Roasted Red Potatoes

I cannot believe how long it’s been since my last post!  Time is flying, for sure!  I’m going to try to post more often than once a month, I promise.

So, I decided occasionally I will post what I will call a “Sunday Dinner” which is a whole meal, featuring one or two recipes.  I actually made this last weekend but I figure I will post a Sunday Dinner on Friday in case you want to recreate it on Sunday.  This is one of our faves – it’s delicious, quick, and a pretty economical menu.

Now, when I made this, I had bought some little red potatoes to make the roasted reds, which we love.  I had the ingredients to make the skillet meat loaf as well, and even though they tasted delicious together, it actually was not very practical because of the oven space.  If you have two ovens, first of all, I am green with envy and might want to poke you with a skewer, and b) it would be much easier to make these two things together.  Otherwise, I would opt for mashed potatoes.  Look for my mashed potato recipe in a future post.

Okay, we’ll go through the meat “loaf” first (this is not actually a loaf) and then treat the roasted reds like a bonus.

So, let’s gather:

1 pound ground chuck, 1/2 pound breakfast sausage, 1/2 cup shredded parm, about 4 chopped green onions, 2 eggs, 1 cup dry bread crumbs, about 2 cloves chopped garlic, and salt, pepper, and dried parsley to taste (I used about 2 teaspoons of each.)  You will also need 2 tablepoons of butter, 1 can beef broth and 1 12 oz can tomato juice.

Put everything except the butter, broth, and juice into a large bowl.

Mix well with your impeccably clean hands.

Preheat your broiler (on high.)  Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in an ovenproof skillet.  I used my trusty cast iron.

A word about the cast iron skillet – I inherited this one from my mother, and it has been an indispensable kitchen tool.  If you don’t have one, I highly suggest investing in one.  Treat it lovingly, and not only will it yield delicious food for you and whoever you cook for, but you can bequeath it to your children when you die.  If they are like me, they will be be forever grateful.  If they are not like me, the little ingrates, they will sell it for $2 at a garage sale to some other lucky person who will benefit from your love and care, and be eternally grateful.  Raise your kids right, folks!

Okay.  Ahem.  Anyway.  Shape the meat into four 1/2″ patties (size approximate – I’m not real good with fractions) and place in the melted butter in the skillet.

Now place the skillet about 10″ under the hot broiler for five minutes.  They will look like this:

Flip them over carefully and place back under the broiler for another five minutes.  Then they will look like this:

Which is pretty much what they looked like on the other side.  Now, pour into the skillet the cans of broth and juice.

Place back under the broiler for (you guessed it!) five more minutes!

Pull your skillet out of the oven and turn that dern thing off!  It’s 100 degrees outside!

Take the patties out of the skillet and set aside.

With the skillet on the stove, crank up the heat and boil it.  You want to reduce it to about half, so it thickens up and concentrates the flavor.  This is some yummy, yummy stuff!

Once your sauce is reduced, place the patties back in to glaze them with the sauce.  Then serve with extry sauce (or gravy, if you will) to put on top and to drizzle on your potatoes.

Remember, this goes really, really well with mashed potatoes (natch) but I am including the recipe for the roasted reds as a bonus since this is what my dumb ass made for this dinner.  The oven was on for too long and it made it really hot in the house.  The original purpose of the Skillet Meat Loaf was that when you wanted meat loaf in the summer, but didn’t want to have the oven on for an hour or an hour and a half.  This cooks under the broiler for 15 minutes so it doesn’t heat your kitchen up too bad.  So I kind of defeated the purpose, here.  Learn from my mistakes.

So, on to the roasted reds!!  This is so easy, but so, so delicious.

You will need:  A little bag of tiny red potatoes (about 2-3 pounds), olive oil, and kosher salt.  That’s it!

First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Then wash your potatoes and dry them well.  Put them in a big bowl and drizzle with olive oil (about 1/4 to 1/3 cup.  They must be completely covered.)  Then sprinkle with about 1 tablespoon of kosher salt.  Toss to make sure every little potato is coated with oil and salt.

Okay, so, in the picture above I had not tossed these yet.  But I like this photo so I added it.

Now put your potatoes on a rack in a cookie sheet.

Aren’t they pretty?  Like glistening little gems.

Now put them in the hot oven for about 30-40 minutes.  (This is decidedly NOT a summer recipe.  I’m tellin ya, stick with the mashed.)

Now pull them out of the oven and let them sit for a minute.  You may admire them if you like.  Then put them in your serving bowl.

The great thing about these potatoes is they are so easily prepared, but when they come out of the oven the skins are slightly crispy and the interior is soft, fluffy, and so delicious.  I like to smash a couple down and then put a pat of butter and some cracked black pepper on it.  Heavenly!

For this day, though, Sunday dinner, I smashed them and drizzled with the yummy gravy/sauce that we made with the meatloaf.  And since the oven was already hot I went ahead and made some rolls from frozen dough.  I rounded out the meal with corn cobbettes with butter, salt, and pepper.

This was a fantastic Sunday meal, and my family was full and happy.  Even Jude ate it, which lately is a coup.  I really enjoyed it, too, once I stopped sweating like a pig in my hot ass kitchen.  I had to sit down for a couple sips of cold beer before I ate.

Here is where we eat at The Cottage:

And here is the table laden with Sunday Dinner goodness:

I am going to try (notice I said “try”) to do a Sunday dinner post at least once a month.  I really am trying to get into a groove here so I can post more often!! Leave me comments!  And I love you all!

Enjoy your Sunday Dinner from The Cottage!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Sunday Dinner – Skillet Meat Loaf with Roasted Red Potatoes

  1. Looks tasty! I’m hungry now! Do you know the Lee Brothers? Doug makes a meat loaf from their cookbook that has chopped up pickles, and it is soooo good. If you don’t have their cookbook, you can get a used one from Amazon for pretty darn cheap… That’s how I get all of my cookbooks these days:
    http://www.amazon.com/Lee-Bros-Southern-Cookbook-Southerners/dp/039305781X/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1307730824&sr=1-2

    Posted by Robyn | 06/10/2011, 6:35 pm
  2. i am a meatloaf lover deluxe, i can’t believe i now have a recipe for making it during the summer months! -looks really good, and easy. enjoyed the commentary and all the luscious pix. thank you for sharing your talents with us!! looking forward to more sunday dinner ideas.

    Posted by Elizabeth Malone | 06/10/2011, 10:49 pm
  3. mmmm….meatloaf! this is one of my favorite dinners. this version looks pretty easy to make. i might have to stick a little piece of cheese in the middle of those patties. also, i have my great-grandmothers cast iron skillet. i have four in all different sizes and depths. they are awesome and everyone should have one. you’re right, they do make terrific heirlooms!

    Posted by Kelly Dodson | 06/10/2011, 11:06 pm
  4. As a connoisseur of meatIoaf, I will mos def be trying this recipe in the near future. What a great idea to do them in a skillet so they get that crunchy goodness which can be hard to achieve in the oven.

    Posted by Michael Hughes | 06/13/2011, 4:26 pm
  5. This one has made me sooo HONGRY!

    Posted by Leigh | 06/13/2011, 11:32 pm
  6. I love reading your blogs Shannon. Always brightens up my day, keep em coming !

    Posted by Amanda | 06/22/2011, 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

