//
you're reading...
Asian-inspired, Recipes

Cashew Pork

Well, it’s been a herculean task to get this done, but I did it!!  We had a visit from family last week, and then we were looking for, and then found and purchased a new (to us) vehicle!  Yay!  But hopefully I’m back in the swing of things and I can get stuff out at a better clip.

This recipe is one I like to make when I am feeling all chef-y and exotic.  It’s very easy (as almost all of my cooking is) and the prep is the most time consuming part.  But it is delicious and great for when you want something a little different.

Let’s get started!  For the meat, you can use pork, chicken, or shrimp.  I used 4 boneless pork chops for this go-round.  Start by marinating the meat.  You will need 1 1/2 pounds of pork, corn starch, soy sauce, and chicken stock or broth.

Cut the pork into bite-size chunks.  Mix well in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of the corn starch, soy sauce, and chicken stock.  Set aside.

Now, we shall prepare the sauce.  You will need soy sauce, corn starch, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, chicken stock, and brown sugar.

Mix together 1/2 cup soy sauce, 2 tablespoons chicken stock, 1 tablespoon corn starch, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 4 tablespoons vinegar, and 2 tablespoons sesame oil.  Whisk together and set aside.

For the rest of the recipe you will need green onions, cashews, vegetable oil, rice, and crushed red pepper.

Cut the green onions into 1/4″ diagonal pieces.  I think I used 8.  You can use more or less, depending on how much you like onions.

Now we’re ready to start cooking!!  Heat 1 tablespoon vegetable oil in a large skillet over high heat.  Add the cashews ( I used 1 cup) and stir fry them until they are golden brown, about a minute or two.  Now, a word about these cashews.  I almost always use roasted and salted cashews – whole, half, pieces – it doesn’t really matter, I just got what was on sale usually.  This time, I found raw cashews, which I NEVER see, so I decided to try them in an effort to cut down on the salt in this recipe.  They worked really nicely, but aren’t necessary – if you want to cut out some of the salt and can’t find raw or unsalted cashews, use low sodium soy sauce and low sodium stock.  Also, if you get the raw cashews, do NOT eat them in this state.  They are not good.  (Though I will say here that I got an inordinate amount of pleasure watching Jude’s face when I finally let him have one after he asked forty-seven times.  Sick momma glee!)

Set the browned cashews aside.

Heat another tablespoon vegetable oil in the same skillet.  Make sure oil is very hot, you want a nice sear on the meat.  Add the meat in a single layer and then stir fry over high heat until sizzling brown and no longer pink in the center.  (Depending on how big the chunks are, this should take no more than 4 minutes or so.)

Now add your green onions and some crushed red pepper flakes to taste.  (I used about a teaspoon.)

Stir fry for another 30 seconds or so.

Now give your sauce a whisk (it probably separated some) and pour into the skillet.  Stir it up with the meat for about 30 seconds or so.

Stir in the cashews at the last, and then serve over hot, cooked rice of your choice.  I used basmati which was quite delicious.

Eat with chopsticks and be sooo exotic!  Yummy!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Cashew Pork

  1. You don’t use no dang chopplie sticks!!

    Posted by joey | 05/18/2011, 6:15 pm
  2. I love this recipe !! I’m going to make this for the family ! My only concern is the red pepper (Camryn thinks everything is spicy) and I wanted to ask if Jude likes this dish ?

    Posted by Amanda | 05/18/2011, 8:17 pm
  3. Yummy, you great chef, you. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

    Posted by Carol | 05/18/2011, 10:30 pm
  4. I can almost smell it! Yummy.

    Posted by artbyvincent | 05/26/2011, 12:33 am
  5. i will be making this tonight with chicken can’t wait!!

    Posted by Seonaid Acevedo | 06/12/2011, 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

